Tough Vuelta route unveiled

11 summit finishes create huge test

Last updated: 12th January 2013

The 2013 Vuelta a Espana will be one of the hardest Grand Tours in recent history after a route containing 11 summit finishes was unveiled in Vigo on Saturday.

Also see

Organisers are keen to build on the success of the 2012 edition - which saw Team Sky's Chris Froome place fourth - when 10 summit finishes made for three thrilling weeks of racing, and have laid out a parcours that promises to be just as compelling.

A potentially decisive penultimate stage will end on the Alto de L'Angliru, which is widely regarded as one of the steepest and most challenging climbs in Western Europe, while the race will also cross over into France for the first time in a decade for an ascent to Peyragudes in the Pyrenees.

Two previously unused climbs in Andalucia have also been included, as has a trip to Andorra in an anti-clockwise circuit around Spain.

The race will feature only two time trials, with a 27km team time trial on the opening stage being followed by a 38km individual time trial on stage 11.

Team Sky notably placed two riders on the Spanish Grand Tour's podium in 2011, with Froome and Bradley Wiggins placing second and third having both worn the leader's jersey during the race.

The 2013 Vuelta runs from August 24 to September 15, starting in Vigo and ending in Madrid.

2013 Vuelta a Espana

August 24, Stage 1: Team time trial, Vilanova de Arousa - Sanxenxo

August 25, Stage 2: Pontevedra - Alto da Groba

August 26, Stage 3: Vigo - Mirador de Lobeira

August 27, Stage 4: Lain - Fisterra

August 28, Stage 5: Sober - Lago de Sanabria

August 29, Stage 6: Guijuelo - Caceres

August 30, Stage 7: Almendralejo - Mairena de Aljafare

August 31, Stage 8: Jerez de la Frontera

September 1, Stage 9: Antequera - Valdepeñas de Jaén

September 2, Stage 10: Torredelcampo - Haza Llanas

September 3: Rest day

September 4, Stage 11: Individual time trial, Tarazona

September 5, Stage 12: Maella - Tarragona

September 6, Stage 13: Valls - Castelldefels

September 7, Stage 14: Baga - Coll de la Gallina

September 8, Stage 15: Andorra - Peyragudes

September 9, Stage 16: Graus - Formigal

September 10: Rest day

September 11, Stage 17: Calahorra - Burgos

September 12, Stage 18: Burgos - Peña Cabarga

September 13, Stage 19: San Vicente de la Barquera - Naranco

September 14, Stage 20: Aviles - Angliru

September 15, Stage 21: Leganés - Madrid

Follow Us

Team Sky Shop